The oldest Australian military complex still occupied by the Armed Forces, the Anglesea Barracks are recognised as one of Australia's most significant military heritage precincts. Established in 1811, the barracks were the base of Tasmanian military control, the building of which was constructed in 1814. Containing a range of units, facilities and messes as well as the old jail, the Anglesea Barracks are a fascinating piece of national history to be explored, encompassing the Military Museum of Tasmania within.
A few words from Anglesea Barracks
Anglesea Barracks in Hobart, built in the 1800's, now houses the Military Museum of Tasmania.
Governor Macquarie ordered these barracks built when he visited the colony in 1811. When the last British regiment left Tasmania in 1870 the buildings were variously used as a school, reformatory, a home for old women and a gymnasium. With the federation of Australia in 1901, the barracks became Commonwealth property and passed back to full military control, in which they have remained ever since.
In the barracks are the hospital, now the commander's residence, the original officers' quarters and mess, the arch from the original Bath Inn, the memorial to the British 99th Regiment of Foot stationed here from 1848-58, the officers' married quarters, the beautiful two story soldiers accommodation built in 1850, now the Headquarters building, the old drill hall, now the officers' mess and the jail, which is now the Military Museum of Tasmania.
Guided tours of the Barracks and Museum are conducted on Tuesdays at 11am. The Museum is open on Tuedays from 9 am to 1pm and on Thursdays from 9am to 12 pm. Other times by appointment.
Davey St., Hobart CBD 7000 TAS - See Map
Tuedays from 9 am to 1pm and on Thursdays from 9am to 12 pm. Other times by appointment.